A little bit about me

Moin!
(as they say in Hamburg) I’m Caro, comic artist and illustrator, and even though I’ve been living and working in Berlin for some time now, I’ll always be a Hamburger at heart (as in Hamburg, the city; not hamburger, the food :D).
That might not be where I hatched (in the year of 1988 – still got a fancy GDR seal on my birth certificate), but, as the story goes, in 2006, my educational plans took me to the beautiful harbor city and I just fell in love and wanted to stay there forever.

Well, things never turn out the way you expect, and that’s exactly what happened with my career plans. I actually, seriously tried to work full-time as a communication designer – after all, that’s what I studied and liked to do.
However, it only took half a year for me to realize that being employed in the same position within the same company all the time just isn’t my thing. Plus wouldn’t I like it much better to create illustrations and comics?

So, what now?

As we all know, ideas need to mature, so my short-term solution in 2010-2011 was to add another training, this time in 2D animation (the really oldschool version, with pencils and pegbars on an animation table :D), and reduce my full-time job to part-time, in order to be able to work on my career as a freelancer in the remaining time.

I admit that there were days when I just went for a coffee with friends, but I also created a couple of explanatory videos, my first freelance magazine illustrations and my official comic debut, “Eine kleine Nachtmusik”, in “GroßstadtAugen”, published by Droemer Knaur, during that time.

In 2015, I realised I was trying to juggle too many balls at once – and didn’t I actually want to create comics? So I handed in my resignation for the end of the year, dug up an old concept for a comic series from my student days and published the first volume at Comic Salon Erlangen in 2016. There I full-throatedly prided myself in front of everyone who did or didn’t want to hear about it on “Vom Anfang/The Origin Story“, a fantasy adventure comic series with female protagonists (because there are still too few of those!), that I write, draw and even publish all by myself – because I can.

Shockingly, people believed me and I had to deliver and draw the next volume, and the one after that, and accompanying booklets, and artbooks, and merch to go with it. To put it briefly, since 2016, I’ve been doing little to nothing else; I spend my winters drawing, publish a new comic in spring/summer and ‘go on tour’ to various fairs and conventions from Germany to Austria, in order to put the thing (and anything else I made in the meantime) into readers’ hands. Meanwhile, I don’t grow tired of explaining that I’m NOT Cosima. I just like red-haired girls…

I know what you want to ask

Can you make a living from that?‘ – And I like to reply with a wholehearted ‘Yes and no’. 😀

Luckily, my comic empire has grown to make up a considerable portion of my income, thanks to my online shop sales and Patreon support. I (still need to) rely on additional work in the form of freelace illustrations for the book market, design of beloved characters, coloring of other artists’ comics and other things where my help is needed, though.

But I’m getting there – let’s see what I’ll be writing 5 years from now, when I’ll decide it’s time to update this website once again. ;D

Tools

Digital:

  • Photoshop
  • Illustrator
  • Indesign
  • Clip Studio Paint
  • Wacom Cintiq (the big one… because I don’t know limits)

Analog:

  • Water colors
  • Ink

Work experience

02/2011 – until now
Freelance

illustration, comic, storyboard, sympathetic figures, character design, cover art, coloration, explanatory films
Self-published various comics, zines, artbooks and print products

11/2009 – 12/2015
Part time 2D Artist Farbflut Entertainment GmbH

Illustration, Conceptart, 2d Assets

11/2007 – 01/2009
Graphic Assistant Projekt Kontor GmbH

Illustration, layout, print preparation, corporate design

Training

2010-2011
animation-school-hamburg |
2D animation design

2006 – 2009
Hamburger Technische Kunstschule |
Communication Design
Focus on illustration/multimedia

Publications

Silberpfeil 58, 60, 66 | (Coloration) – Wick Comics
Sumi |
Kult Comics
Anna Blue – Off the Record |
(Coloration) – Altraverse
#comfortzone 1-2 |
Self-published
Vom Anfang
Hinter der Linie | self-published
Vom Anfang
1-5 | Self-published
Königin der Nacht | Self-Published
Dead Ends | Zwerchfell
Großstadtaugen | Droemer Knaur/Comicstars
Minimanga | Kidszone
Short Stack 3 | Angry Gnome Comics

Contact

    You would like to tell me something, have questions or want to tackle a project?
    Then feel free to send me an email directly via the contact form. I am always happy to receive mail and try to answer messages within 3-4 business days, but if it does take longer - don't be afraid to follow up again. 🙂 (Unfortunately I have no capacities for internships at the moment)

    For project requests not covered by my comissionsheet - please be as specific as possible in describing the planned scope, project timeframe, intended use and desired budget - so that I can provide a concrete estimate.

Son bisschen über mich

Moin!
Ich bin Caro, Comiczeichnerin und Illustratorin und obwohl ich mittlerweile in Berlin lebe und arbeite, bleibe ich im Herzen immer Hamburgerin.
Dort wurde ich zwar auch nicht rausgequetscht (Jahrgang 1988 – ich habe noch so einen schicken DDR-Stempel auf meiner Geburtsurkunde) aber es hat mich 2006 – ganz klassisch zu Ausbildungszwecken in die schöne Hafenstadt verschlagen und ich habe mich einfach verliebt und wollte eigentlich gerne für immer da bleiben.

Nun Dinge kommen immer anders als man so denkt, genauso erging es auch meinem beruflichen Werdegang. Ich habe, weil man das halt so macht, wirklich ernsthaft versucht Vollzeit-Kommunikationsdesigner zu werden – immerhin hab ich das ja gelernt und macht mir ja auch Spaß.
Es hat nur ein halbes Jahr gedauert, bis ich begriffen habe, dass mir eine Angestellten Position in immer derselben Firma, nicht liegt und dass ich ausserdem eigentlich doch lieber illustrieren und Comics machen möchte.

Ja und nun?

Ideen müssen ja reifen, also war die kurzfristige Lösung 2010-11 noch mal eine Fortbildung in 2D-Animation dranzuhängen (so richtig oldschool mit Bleistift und Pegbar auf einem Animationstisch :D) und die Vollzeitstelle auf Teilzeit zu reduzieren um in der restlichen Zeit meine freiberufliche Selbstständigkeit aufzubauen.

Ich gebe zu, dass ich häufig auch einfach nur Kaffee trinken mit Freunden war, aber ein paar Erklärfilme, erste freie Magazin Illustrationen, ebenso wie mein offizielles Comic Debut “Eine kleine Nachtmusik” in “GroßstadtAugen” bei Droemer Knaur sind in der Zeit dann doch entstanden.

2015 hatte ich dann aber doch genug davon auf zwei Hochzeiten gleichzeitig zu tanzen, weil ich bei keiner so richtig voran kam – und wollte ich nicht eigentlich Comics machen? Da war doch was. Also kündigte ich zum Ende des Jahres, zog ein altes Comicserien-Konzept noch aus Studienzeiten aus der Schublade und veröffentlichte den Ersten Band Mitte 2016 zum Comic Salon Erlangen. Dort erzählte ich großspurig jedem, der es hören wollte oder auch nicht, dass “Vom Anfang” eine Fantasy Adventure Comiserie mit weiblichen Hauptfiguren wird, weils davon immer noch zu Wenige gibt – die ich selber schreibe, zeichne und auch verlege – weil ichs kann.

Erschreckenderweise hat man mir das geglaubt und ich musste dann wohl auch den Folgeband zeichnen und den danach, und Begleithefte und Artbooks und Merch drumrum. Kurzgesagt – seit 2016 mache ich nicht mehr viel anderes, ich zeichne über den Winter, veröffentliche im Frühjahr/Sommer einen neuen Comic und ‘toure’ dann über diverse Messen und Conventions innerhalb Deutschlands bis nach Österreich um das Ding (und was noch so entstanden ist) in Leser*innen Hände zu bringen. Nebenbei werde ich auch nicht müde zu erklären, dass ich NICHT Cosima bin. Ich mag halt rothaarige Mädchen…

Ich weiß was du fragen willst

Ob man davon denn leben kann’ – Das beantworte ich gerne mit einem herzlichen Jein. 😀

Erfreulicherweise ist mein Comicimperium, dank Shopverkäufen und Patreonunterstützung mittlerweile soweit gewachsen, dass es durchaus einen nennenswerten Anteil meines Einkommens macht – ganz ohne zusätzliche Arbeit in Form von freien Illustrationen für den Buchmarkt, Sympathiefigurenentwicklung, Colorationen von anderen Comics und wo man mich halt noch so gebrauchen könnte – klappts dann eben doch (noch) nicht.

Aber ich denke ich bin auf dem Weg – Mal schaun, was ich in fünf Jahren schreibe, wenn ich diese Webseite mal wieder update. ;D

Werkzeuge

Digital:

  • Photoshop
  • Illustrator
  • Indesign
  • Clip Studio Paint
  • Wacom Cintiq (the big one… weil ich kein Mass kenne)

Analog:

  • Aquarell
  • Tusche

Berufserfahrung

02/2011 – bis jetzt
Freiberuflich

Illustration, Comic, Storyboard, Sympathiefiguren, Characterdesign, Coverart, Coloration, Erklärfilme
Eigenverlag diverse Comics, Zines, Artbooks und Druckprodukte

11/2009 – 12/2015
Teilzeit 2D Artist Farbflut Entertainment GmbH

Illustration, Conceptart, 2d Assets

11/2007 – 01/2009
Grafikassistenz Projekt Kontor GmbH

Illustration, Layout, Druckvorbereitung, Corporate Design

Ausbildung

2010-2011
animation-school-hamburg |
2D-Animationsdesign

2006 – 2009
Hamburger Technische Kunstschule |
Kommunikationsdesign
Schwerpunkt Illustration/Multimedia

Veröffentlichungen

Silberpfeil 58, 60, 66 | (Coloration) – Wick Comics
Sumi |
Kult Comics
Anna Blue – Off the Record |
(Coloration) – Altraverse
#comfortzone 1-2 |
Eigenverlag
Vom Anfang
Hinter der Linie |  Eigenverlag
Vom Anfang
1-5 |  Eigenverlag
Königin der Nacht | Eigenverlag
Dead Ends | Zwerchfell
Großstadtaugen | Droemer  Knaur/Comicstars
Minimanga | Kidszone
Short Stack 3 | Angry Gnome Comics

Kontakt

    Du möchtest mir gerne etwas mitteilen, hast Fragen oder möchtest ein Projekt umsetzen?
    Dann schreib mir gerne direkt eine Mail über das Kontaktformular. Ich freue mich immer über Post und versuche Nachrichten innerhalb von 3-4 Werktagen zu beantworten, wenn es aber doch einmal länger dauert – scheu dich nicht noch einmal nachzuhaken. 🙂 (Derzeit habe ich leider keine Kapazitäten für Praktika)

    Für Projektanfragen, die nicht von meinem Auftragsformular abgedeckt werden - bitte so konkret als möglich den geplanten Umfang, Projektzeitraum, geplante Nutzung und gewünschtes Budget beschreiben - damit ich einen konkreten Kostenvoranschlag erstellen kann.

    Newsletter

    Und wenn du wirklich nichts mehr verpassen möchtest, dann trag dich jetzt gleich in meinen (theoretisch*) monatlichen E-Mail Newsletter ein.
    Darin informiere ich gesammelt über neue Veröffentlichungen, Shopupdates, Messetermine und alles was sonst noch so anfällt.

    *theoretisch: passiert ja doch nicht immer was Neues